Voting opens as Our Health Heroes 2024 finalists announced


Voting has opened to decide the winners of the 2024 Our Health Heroes Awards.

Our Health Heroes recognises the extraordinary people at the heart of our NHS and is delivered by Skills for Health in partnership with NHS Employers, NHS England, NHS Shared Business Services and more.

Fifteen finalists have been shortlisted across five categories celebrating the UK’s health heroes.

Votes are welcome from across the community – including colleagues and service users – to decide who will be crowned gold, silver and bronze award winners at a ceremony held in Central London on 16 April.

And the finalists are…

Apprentice of the year:

  • Phoebe Edwards, Podiatry Apprentice, East London NHS Foundation Trust
  • Ben Martin, Data Quality Support Analyst, Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Debbie Harris, Healthcare Assistant, Essex Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust

Healthcare Volunteer of the Year:

  • Rezmin Islam, Volunteer, Liverpool Women’s NHS Foundation Trust
  • Tracy Spencer, Volunteer, WithYou in North Lincolnshire
  • Paul Fox, Yoga4Health & Yoga4NHS Co-ordinator, The Yoga in Healthcare Alliance

Outstanding Life Contribution sponsored by NHS Employers

  • Philip Helliwell, Rheumatology Consultant, Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Tony Westacott, Learning and Development Manager, Avon & Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership NHS Trust
  • Elaine Allison, Matron, St. Bartholomew’s Court Nursing Home

Operational Support Worker of the Year

  • Paula Di Palma, Housekeeping Manager, St Raphael’s Hospice
  • Cat Carman, Social Prescriber, Fenland Group Practice
  • Tina Jackson, Family Liaison Officer, Portsmouth Hospitals University NHS Trust

Clinical Support Worker of the Year:

  • Chido Munyanyi, Therapy Support Worker, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust
  • Swati Gor, Healthcare Assistant, Havergal Surgery
  • Kerry Clark, Macmillan Cancer Support Worker, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Voting opens today (20 February) and closes at 11.59pm on 5 March. To find out more about the finalists and to cast your vote visit:

Follow #OurHealthHeroes on Twitter for all the latest updates.